The 9th Annual Snowball 500 Presented by Wizzard

Posted by: Frank

The 9th Annual Snowball 500 Presented by Wizzard - 12/14/08 12:46 AM

For further information contact the Slot Car Club Of The Twin Tiers at: or (607) 398-2003.


The Race: The 9th Annual Snowball 500

When: Saturday December 27, 2008. Pre-Race tech to be completed by 12:45, qualifying to follow. Track opens at 8am. Friday practice from 6pm - until 10? 11? Whatever is required.

Location: The Slot Car Club of the Twin Tiers, 2117C Grand Central Ave., Horseheads, NY

The Track: The Bowman Grand Champion. 83.5', 18 turns

The Cars: Aurora Thunderjets run to SCCOTTT Super Stock rules, (similar to Fray or VHORS.) Contact for complete rules.

The Sponsor:

Wizzard High Performance, Inc.

148 Deer Oak Lane

Bedford, PA 15522

(814) 623-7482

Race History: Only three drivers have won Snowball 500s. Dave Hendrickson is the defending race champion. He defeated Gary Weber, Kevin Hendrickson and Ernie Langford to win the 2007 edition. Paul Kniffen won the race in 2006. Frank Spena Jr. won the first six Snowball 500s.

Concourse D'Elegance - A concourse d'elegance will be held prior to pre-race tech. Judging will be done by the reigning Miss America winner, Kirsten Haglund. (Okay, I just made that part up, it will actually be judged by all present, but it should still be pretty good.) Concourse entries must be able to turn a lap on the Grand Champion layout.

The Snowball 500 is the crown jewel of SCCOTTT Majors and the most prestigious race for Fray-style T-Jets in New York State. The 2008 Snowball could be the closest in history. Leading up the race defending champ Dave Hendrickson and his son, reigning Turkey 250 champ Ryan, have been trading the track record back and forth - sometimes twice in a day. Ryan threw down the gauntlet with a crushing performance in the Turkey 250, but Dave has not shown his real hand in race trim in some time.

Other potential winners include Scott Udave, Gary Weber, Kevin Hendrickson, Ernie Langford and Tom Bowman. Buffalo's Udave has been steadily improving his program throughout the year and had a strong 3rd at the Turkey 250. Weber grabbed 4th at the Turkey despite his car being down on power. Kevin Hendrickson has shown flashes of speed in 2008 and could surprise. Langford has been in and around the top five through 2008. Virginia Beach's Bowman, the inventor of the magnetic slot car and founder of BRP, a slot car performance company, will have to overcome the local track knowledge of the Upstate New Yorkers.

SCCOTTT's Friday Night 1/32 Racing Series runs every Friday evening with races beginning at 7:00 PM. Current classes are World Sportscar Championship, (WSC,) Non-Magnet Open and 1/24 Le Mans. Call or e-mail for rules.

The Slot Car Club Of The Twin Tiers is a non-profit group of enthusiasts dedicated to promoting slot car racing in the Southern Tier of NY and the Northern Tier of PA. Please stop in or check out the club web site.

Slot Car Club Of The Twin Tiers
2117C Grand Central Ave.
Horseheads, NY 14845
Web Site: